Twelve Apostolic Types

“Revelation 21:14, says, “And the wall of the city had twelve foundations, and in them the names of the twelve apostles of the Lamb.” The new Jerusalem which was created in the Spirit on the Day of Pentecost (Heb.12:22, Gal.4:25-27, Heb.13:14, 11:10) will finally be revealed at Christ’s Parousia at the end of history. This heavenly Jerusalem came down from heaven in the Spirit when the old earthly Jerusalem was destroyed in A.D.70. The creation of this heavenly Jerusalem was foretold In Isaiah 65:18-19, which says, “But be ye glad and rejoice for ever in that which I create: for, behold, I create Jerusalem a rejoicing, and her people a joy. And I will rejoice in Jerusalem, and joy in my people: and the voice of weeping shall be no more heard in her, nor the voice of crying.” It is also interesting that the wall of the city had twelve foundations which we will explain later in the book. But Isaiah again foretells of this in Isaiah 54:11-14, saying, “O thou afflicted, tossed with tempest, and not comforted, behold, I will lay thy stones with fair colours, and lay thy foundations with sapphires. And I will make thy windows of agates, and thy gates of carbuncles, and all thy borders of pleasant stones. And all thy children shall be taught of the LORD; and great shall be the peace of thy children. In righteousness shalt thou be established: thou shalt be far from oppression; for thou shalt not fear: and from terror; for it shall not come near thee.” The phrase “thy children shall be taught of the Lord” is pointing to the teaching of the Holy Spirit under the New Covenant: John 6:44-45, says, “No man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him: and I will raise him up at the last day. It is written in the prophets, And they shall be all taught of God. Every man therefore that hath heard, and hath learned of the Father, cometh unto me.” Jeremiah also alludes to this in Jeremiah 31:33-34, saying, “But this shall be the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel; After those days, saith the LORD, I will put my law in their inward parts, and write it in their hearts; and will be their God, and they shall be my people. And they shall teach no more every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the LORD: for they shall all know me, from the least of them unto the greatest of them, saith the LORD: for I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.” This teaching began when the Holy Spirit was given on the day of Pentecost. Jesus said the Holy Spirit would teach us all things (John 14:26, 1John 2:20, 27). The twelve foundations of the apostolic do not only represent what comes in the future, but a present reality. Ephesians 2:20-22, says, “And are built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ himself being the chief corner stone; In whom all the building fitly framed together groweth unto an holy temple in the Lord: In whom ye also are builded together for an habitation of God through the Spirit.” This apostolic foundation which was created on the day of Pentecost shows us twelve apostolic types in scripture.”

-Anthony Booker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: