The Seven Spirits of God

“Revelation 4: 5 says “And out of the throne proceeded lightnings and thunderings and voices: and there were seven lamps of fire burning before the throne, which are the seven Spirits of God (Isaiah. 11).”

The Apostle Paul prays for the Ephesian saints that the eyes of their understanding would be enlightened. He also prays for the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Jesus Christ to come upon them. The Spirit of Wisdom is essential in our understanding of the Word of God, and what Christ wants to do in the church.

The Spirit of Wisdom is one of the seven dimensions of the Holy Spirit of God found in Isaiah11: 2, which says “And the spirit of the Lord shall rest upon him (Jesus), the spirit of wisdom and understanding, the spirit of counsel and might, the spirit of knowledge and holiness, and the fear of the Lord.” The word ‘Holiness’ is found in Isaiah 11: 2, of the Septuagint Bible which was the earliest translation of the Hebrew Bible in Jesus’ day. To understand how Jesus wants to reform the church to be a true habitation of the Spirit we must look at Jesus’ first encounter with the Scripture. Jesus appears on the scene in A.D. 29 Nisan 10th and is baptized by John the Baptist in the river Jordan. Suddenly a voice comes from heaven announcing the inauguration of Jesus as the Son of God to those at his Baptism. A few months later he enters the Synagogue to read the Scriptures in the beginning of the Sabbatical year, in the month Tishri A.D.29/30 and he finds the place in Isaiah which according to Luke 4: 18, says “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor, he hath sent me to heal the broken hearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised, to preach the acceptable year of the Lord…” But let’s look at the rest of this verse in Isaiah 61: 2, which says “… and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all that mourn;” Jesus purposefully didn’t say this because he knew it wasn’t time for this to be fulfilled. This part of the verse was going to be fulfilled in A.D.70

Isaiah 11: 2, is also key in activating Isaiah 61: 1-2 through the seven spirits (or dimensions) of God. You need the Spirit of Wisdom in order to preach the gospel to the poor. You need the Spirit of Understanding in order to heal the broken hearted. You need the Spirit of Counsel upon you in order to preach deliverance to the captives. You need the Spirit of Might for the blind to recover their sight. The Spirit of Knowledge has to come upon you in order to set at liberty those who are bruised. According to the Septuagint, you need the Spirit of Holiness working in your life in order to preach the acceptable year of the Lord. The last Spirit you need is the Fear of the Lord working in your life for the day of the vengeance of our God. The seven Spirits of God, or the seven dimensions of the Spirit of God also represent each Spirit that was prevalent or what each of the seven churches needed in each church age.

Wisdom/ Ephesus;

Understanding/ Smryna;

Counsel/ Pergamos;

Might/ Thyatira;

Knowledge/ Sardis;

Holiness/ Philadelphia;

and the Fear of the Lord/ Laodicea.”

In Ephesians, Paul lays down seven unified oneness teachings that are essential to the church, but also represent prophetic stages that the seven Churches of Asia Minor went through:

One Body/ Ephesus;

One Spirit/ Smryna;

One Hope/ Pergamos;

One Lord/ Thyatira;

One Faith/ Sardis;

One Baptism/ Philadelphia;

and One God/ Laodicea.

In the Gospel of John Jesus also lays out seven important “I AM” sayings that will help us in our understanding of ‘Church History’:

I AM the Bread/ Ephesus;

I AM the Light/ Smryna;

I AM the Door/ Pergamos;

I AM the Good Shepherd/ Thyatira;

I AM the Resurrection and the Life/ Sardis;

I AM the Way, the Truth, and the Life/ Philadelphia, and;

I AM the True Vine/ Laodicea.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: